Manage Real-Time Routing Rules
You can manage your real-time routing rules by modifying, activating or deactivating, or deleting them. You can also view audit logs to see a history of changes.
Make a Real-Time Update to a Rule
Required permissions: Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules > Manage
You can make a real-time update to a routing rule when you need to respond quickly to an urgent situation. Changes to a rule apply from the next regularly-scheduled evaluation cycle. After saving changes to a rule, you cannot make another change for three minutes.
- Find the rule you want to update:
- Click the app selector
and select Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules. Search or use the filtering options to find the rule you want to update. - From an execution log in the routing center, click Edit Rule.
- Click the app selector
-
Select Real-Time Update from the options
menu for the rule you want to update. -
To adjust the guardrail settings for the rule, click the Guardrails tab, then change its settings based on the metric that the rule monitors:
- To change the rule's Type, Skill, or Description, click the General tab and then Edit General Settings. You cannot change a rule's name.
- To undo your changes, click Reset to Default.
- Click Save.
-
Go to the Execution Logs page and click Refresh to see the latest log for the rule. The log appears the next time the rule evaluates the queue.
Activate or Deactivate a Rule
Required permissions: Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules > Manage
Rules must be active to evaluate the queue. When you activate a rule, it runs immediately, then again on the regular evaluation intervals based on its assigned ACD skill
Used to automate delivery of interactions based on agent skills, abilities, and knowledge. media type
A medium, such as voice, email, and chat, through which a contact connects with an intended recipient.. When you deactivate a rule, it stops evaluating and changing routing instructions.
- Click the app selector
and select Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules. - Search or use the filtering options to find the rule you want to update.
-
To deactivate a rule, select Deactivate from the options
menu for the rule. -
To activate a rule, select Activate from the options
menu for the rule. -
Confirm that you want to deactivate or active the selected rule.
Modify a Rule
Required permissions: Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules > Manage
- Click the app selector
and select Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules. - Search or use the filtering options to find the rule you want to update.
-
Select Edit rule settings from the options
menu for the rule you want to update. -
To adjust the guardrail settings for the rule, click the Guardrails tab, then change its settings based on the metric that the rule monitors:
- To change the rule's Type, Skill, or Description, click the General tab and then Edit General Settings. You cannot change a rule's name.
- To undo your changes, click Reset to Default.
- Click Save.
View a Rule's Audit Log
The audit log displays the Change History for the selected rule. The Change History includes who created or modified the rule and when. The audit log also contains tabs that display general information about the rule, the guardrails defined, and the groups assigned to the rule. Follow the steps below to run a Change History report.
-
Click the app selector
and select Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules. -
Select Audit Log from the three stacked dots
for a rule. -
Manually enter a date range for the report or click the calendar icon.
-
Select a Start Date and End Date on the calendar. The longer the range you select, the longer it may take the system to generate the change history report.
-
Scroll to select a time of day or manually enter a time.
-
Click Apply.
-
Click Run Report.
Delete a Rule
Deleted rules cannot be recovered.
-
Click the app selector
and select Routing Center > Real-Time Routing Rules. -
Select Delete from the three stacked dots
for a rule. - Confirm that you intend to delete the rule.